Au-delà des mots

La qualité de vos communications a un effet considérable sur l’image que projette votre entreprise.

Code-x traduction et localisation vous aide à communiquer clairement et efficacement avec votre clientèle, en offrant des services linguistiques en anglais comme en français.

 

Si vous parlez à un homme dans une langue qu’il comprend, cela va dans sa tête. Si vous lui parlez dans sa langue, cela lui va droit au cœur.

– Nelson Mandela

Certified member of <a href="http://ottiaq.org/en/" target="_blank" class="primary inline">OTTIAQ</a>Membre agréé de l’ OTTIAQ

 

Associate member of the <a href="https://www.atanet.org/" target="_blank" class="primary inline">ATA</a>
Membre associé de l’American Translators Association (ATA)
Créativité. Efficacité. Flexibilité. Professionnalisme. Rigueur. Voilà les cinq piliers sur lesquels je m’appuie pour vous offrir des services linguistiques justes, créatifs et dans les règles de l’art.
Diplômé en traduction et en localisation de l’Université de Montréal, je joue avec les mots en conjuguant passion et devoir pour communiquer votre message de la façon la plus efficace qui soit, peu importe le public auquel vous vous adressez. Fort de plusieurs années d’expérience en traduction pour des agences de publicité et des entreprises de renom, j’ai fondé code-x traduction et localisation en 2001 pour diversifier mon offre et étendre la portée de mon travail.

Je suis parfaitement bilingue à l’oral comme à l’écrit et je suis l’un des rares traducteurs membres de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec (OTTIAQ) à offrir des services en anglais et en français. Véritable touche-à-tout aux champs d’intérêt éclectiques, je fais de la recherche du mot juste, ma quête quotidienne.

To my linkedin

Traduction et adaptation

La traduction et l’adaptation exigent un juste équilibre entre créativité et rigueur. Le texte est traduit, adapté ou même réécrit afin qu’il se lise tout aussi naturellement que le texte source, en tenant compte des expressions, jeux de mots et références culturelles propres au marché.

Traduction de documents officiels

Traduction certifiée de documents officiels, comme les certificats de naissance ou de mariage, les diplômes ou les relevés de notes. Service rapide et satisfaisant à toutes les exigences requises par les autorités canadiennes et étrangères.

Révision

Qu’elle soit unilingue ou comparative, la révision vise à assurer la clarté, la structure et l’efficacité d’un texte, ainsi qu’à relever les erreurs de grammaire, d’orthographe, de ponctuation, de sens, de terminologie, de vocabulaire et de syntaxe.

Un exemple vaut mille mots.

Voici quelques exemples qui démontrent la valeur ajoutée que j’apporte lorsque vous me confiez un projet, qu’il s’agisse de l’adaptation d’une vidéo promotionnelle ou de la révision complète du site web d’une entreprise.

Localisation
de vidéo

Adaptation
publicitaire

Traduction
rédactionnelle

Révision
de site web

Témoignages

«Au fil des ans, nous avons souvent collaboré avec Sébastien. Il a toujours été d’un grand professionnalisme, courtois, et compétent.»

Jean-Claude Torchia

Président et chef de la direction

 

«Sébastien est un fidèle collaborateur depuis plusieurs années. Il produit des adaptations de qualité, même lorsque les délais sont serrés. C’est toujours avec plaisir que nous lui confions des mandats.»

Éric Blais

Président

 

«Sébastien a su faire un travail professionnel pour la traduction des documents de visas de travail, et ce dans un délai très rapide. Mille mercis!»

Vicki Castonguay

Conseillère en voyages

 

Soumission

Vous avez une question d’ordre linguistique, aimeriez soumettre un projet ou désirez tout simplement en savoir davantage sur mes services?

Communiquez avec moi par courriel, par téléphone ou en remplissant le formulaire.

514-747-0211

4 + 9 =

parcelles de travail

First paragraph is redundant and should be deleted. The second paragraph presents the same information, and is better written.

  • • couette et café
  • • delete first paragraph
  • • comprend : Le petit-déjeuner-buffet complet pour deux personnes

Révision de site web

à propos

Client

  • • Les hôtels et centres de villégiature Delta (par l’entremise de Headspace Marketing)

Année

  • • 2012

Format

  • • Site web au complet

le projet

Les hôtels et centres de villégiature Delta étaient la plus grande chaîne hôtelière canadienne jusqu’à leur achat par Marriott en 2015. Malheureusement, ils n’étaient pas doté d’une équipe de traduction interne. Chaque hôtel était donc chargé de faire traduire leurs documents par eux-même. Le résultat : un fouillis de textes sans uniformité qui allait de la traduction professionnelle au charabia produit par Google Translate.

En janvier 2012, j’ai donc reçu le mandat de réviser les sites web pour les 42 hôtels et centres de villégiature de l’entreprise. En plus de faire les corrections d’usage pour assurer la qualité du français, j’ai aussi créé un glossaire et un guide stylistique afin d’uniformiser la terminologie et la présentation. J’ai également mis à jour les sections en anglais et en français qui n’étaient plus pertinentes, en plus de fournir de nouvelles traductions lorsqu’elles n’existaient pas ou qu’elles étaient déficientes.

Traduction rédactionnelle

à propos

Client

  • • Boulangerie ACE (par l’entremise de Headspace Marketing)

Année

  • • 2013

Format

  • • Trousse de présentation

le projet

La boulangerie ACE est une entreprise qui distribue ses produits fins partout en Amérique du Nord. En 2013, elle a organisé l’évènement « Artisans en croissance » visant à réunir les meilleures PME gastronomiques au pays pour faire leur promotion et les aider à grandir.

Étant donné l’importance de la tradition culinaire dans la culture francophone, avant même de commencer ce mandat, j’ai effectué des recherches à l’Institut de tourisme et d’hôtellerie du Québec et j’ai communiqué avec des experts afin de parfaire mes connaissances en gastronomie et ainsi m’assurer de produire un texte évocateur qui reflète les réalités de ce domaine.

à propos

Client

  • • Imprimerie Pazazz

Année

  • • 2010

Format

  • • Video

le projet

L’imprimerie Pazazz était l’un des commanditaires du congrès annuel des imprimeurs canadiens en 2010. Pour accueillir les participants, elle a créé une série de vidéos humoristiques démontrant que les documents imprimés jouent toujours un rôle crucial dans un monde de plus en plus tourné vers le numérique.

parcelles de travail

Adaptation publicitaire

à propos

Client

  • • Foodland (Sobeys)

Année

  • • 2014

Format

  • • Publicité imprimée

le projet

Dans le cadre de leur campagne estivale en 2014, Foodland — une bannière des épiceries Sobeys — a créé une série de publicités imprimées centrées sur des activités de plein air (barbecue, camping) accompagnées de recettes simples.

Your Key to DECODING the French Canadian Market

No matter the situation, how you communicate has a direct impact on how you are perceived.

Code-x translation and localization helps you get across your message clearly to your target audience by offering a range of language services in French and in English.

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart.

– Nelson Mandela

Certified member of <a href="http://ottiaq.org/en/" target="_blank" class="primary inline">OTTIAQ</a>

Certified member of OTTIAQ

 

Associate member of the <a href="https://www.atanet.org/" target="_blank" class="primary inline">ATA</a>

Associate member of the ATA

Creativity. Efficiency. Flexibility. Proficiency. Sincerity. I rely on these watchwords to ensure your communications are not only accurate and effective, but also engaging.

As a consummate language professional, I have learned to combine my creativity and experience to craft compelling copy which will uniquely appeal to your target demographic, whether in print, on the web or in a mobile app. After working for many years as an in-house translator for a number of advertising agencies and well-known Canadian companies, I started CODE-X TRANSLATION AND LOCALIZATION to broaden my reach and my experience.

Having been raised in a bilingual household, I am equally fluent in French and English, and I am one of the only translator that is a member of both the ATA (American Translators Association) and OTTIAQ (the largest professional corporation for translation in Canada).

My diversified abilities have led me to work with a wide range of clients, but through it all, one passion remains : finding the exact wording that will engage your audience.

To my linkedin

Content marketing & editorial translation

Sometimes a straightforward translation is not enough — you need someone who will carefully craft an original message based on the source content, but tailored towards the expectations and distinctive specificities of the French Canadian culture.

Translation and adaptation

Translation and advertising adaptation lie between strict adherence to the source text and some measure of creative license. The aim is to convey all the subtleties of the source message as accurately as possible in French, while adopting the proper register for the intended audience.

Localization

Translation and adaptation of interactive (transactional) and static websites, mobile applications, multiplatform games and software.

Editing and Proofreading

By detecting and correcting the various flaws of a document — improper grammar or syntax, wrong spelling or punctuation, incorrect terminology or register, semantic shifts or reversals — these tasks aim to improve the impact, structure and clarity of the text.

Cases in point.

Here’s how I solved some of my clients’ problems. From video translation to an entire website copy, I have been able to speak the most important tongue: my client’s.

Video
localization

Marketing adaptation

Editorial translation

Website
review

In their own words

“Sébastien has been a pleasure to work with. He is professional and responsive, and has helped us navigate through some tricky projects that would likely trip up the average translator. I look forward to working more with him in the future!”

Geoff Norby

Owner

 

“I worked with Sébastien many years ago in a previous company, and always found the quality of his work and his attitude to be top notch. He is able to do simple and technical translations, but I find that he really shines in creating copy for marketing campaigns.”

Linda Young-Blendick

Director of Marketing

 

“Sébastien Adhikari is a pleasure to work with and provides materials in a very timely and efficient manner. He translated our entire website and was always available and easy to work with. I would recommend him to anyone requiring a true professional to work with.”

Sharon Hapton

Founder and CEO

 

“Sébastien has been a valued collaborator for several years. He delivers thoughtful adaptations, often under tight timelines, and is a delight to work with.”

Éric Blais

President

 

“Sébastien has worked as a contract translator for us since December 2011, and in that time, has proven himself to be a valuable resource for French content.”

LaRhea Granz

Content Project Manager

 

Your time to talk

Do you have a project for me, or simply want to know more about my services? Please contact me by email, by phone or through this short submission form.

514-747-0211

11 + 1 =

partials of work

First paragraph is redundant and should be deleted. The second paragraph presents the same information, and is better written.

  • • couette et café
  • • delete first paragraph
  • • comprend : Le petit-déjeuner-buffet complet pour deux personnes

Website Review

about this

Client

  • • Delta Hotels and Resorts (through Headspace Marketing)

Year

  • • 2012

Medium

  • • Full website

summary

Delta Hotels and Resorts was the largest hotel chain based in Canada (they were bought by Marriott in 2015). Unfortunately, they did not have a centralized translation department, and so each property was left to arrange for translation by themselves, which resulted in a hodgepodge of results. Some were translated by professional translators, others by bilingual staff as best they could. Some hotels even used Google Translate.

In early 2012, I was hired to do a thorough linguistic review of the online presence for all 42 properties. In addition to correcting faulty translations, my duties included creating a standardized glossary and style guide, updating sections in English and French which were no longer relevant, and providing brand new translations when the existing copy was incoherent or untranslated.

Editorial Translation

about this

Client

  • • ACE Bakery (through Headspace Marketing)

Year

  • • 2013

Medium

  • • Briefing kit

summary

ACE Bakery is an artisanal bakery which sells its premium products throughout North America. In 2013, they launched a new initiative called the “Artisan Incubator” to showcase the talents of the best food artisans in Canada and help them grow their business.

Because food and cooking play an important role in French culture, I wanted to be fully prepared before starting translation on this project. I therefore went to the ‘Hotel and Tourism Institute of Quebec’ to contact some experts and gather some reference materials which enabled me to create a fully adapted translation with the proper terms and style.

about this

Client

  • • Pazazz Printing

Year

  • • 2010

Medium

  • • Video

summary

In 2010, the Canadian Printing and Packaging Association held its annual conference in Trois-Rivières, Quebec. Pazazz Printing was one of the sponsors, and so created a series of comedic videos affirming the relevance of their industry in a digital world.

partials of work

Marketing Adaptation

about this

Client

  • • Foodland (Sobeys)

Year

  • • 2014

Medium

  • • Print ad

summary

As part of their summer 2014 campaign, the Foodland grocery chain created a series of print ads focusing on food-related outdoor activities (BBQ, campfire) with recipes to match.